Hurt by a Vermeer 252

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NYstupgrinder

Reaction score
I am an attorney and have a client that was hurt by a Vermeer 252... He shut the machine down and walked away from the controls and went to pull a hose that had become dislodged by the machine... The cutter wheel was still rotating...Infact, tests show it takes almost 10 seconds to stop... Does anybody else know anybody who was hurt in this fashion, due to the continually moving wheel of a 252 that has been shut down...

P.S. - The Ogura clutch now seems to have lowered the stop time....Does anybody have experience with this.... Thanks....

Make sure there's nobody with common sense on the jury and you will be in good shape. Walking away from moving power equipment is NOT "reasonable and prudent".

NYstupgrinder said:
I am an attorney and have a client that was hurt by a Vermeer 252... He shut the machine down and walked away from the controls and went to pull a hose that had become dislodged by the machine... The cutter wheel was still rotating...Infact, tests show it takes almost 10 seconds to stop... Does anybody else know anybody who was hurt in this fashion, due to the continually moving wheel of a 252 that has been shut down...

P.S. - The Ogura clutch now seems to have lowered the stop time....Does anybody have experience with this.... Thanks....