Huskee splitter meets its match

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philoshop

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
A 16 - 18" Norway maple of all things. Lots of crotches though. 1970's city-planted yard tree. Remember 'urban renewal/removal/remedial'? Why not pick an invasive species?
View attachment 307001
I didn't let it stall the engine, but it was heading that way. The wedge was more cutting than splitting.
View attachment 307000
Backed the ram free and shuffled it around a bit to finish it up.
View attachment 307003
Kinda surprised with this after all the nasty black locust i've been splitting for the last 7 months. Then again, the tree has only been down a few days. Maybe I should have let it sit a bit first? Relatively heavy stuff at only 25% green mc. I'm thinkin' it'll burn.:msp_thumbup:

Any wood that has lots of big crotches like that I usually just tend to throw them in the bushes or not even take them if I can pick and choose. That's my take on it anyway...

I would agree, except that it I had to haul it out of the guy's yard anyway. The tree was mostly crotches!
I got it split and it'll burn, so everything's good. Nastiest looking stack that I have though.

philoshop,

I bet your wedge is getting dull.
I had to stop and sharpen mine the other day while splitting up a bunch of rock elm.
Dull it chugged away and struggled, sharp it was quite happy to cut right through the knots and crotches like they didn't exist.

Don't under estimate the power of Norway maple, it can be very tough wood at the crotches.
Like Ash Norway is usually a pleasure to split but when the knots arrive they both become nasty to split.
In other words if you kicked Norway maple in the crotch it would do nothing LoL

Worth the effort though to split everything and noodle what cant be split, Norway is 25.2 mbtu so way way up on the list.

Last edited: