Husky 288xp first time porting and home made pipe

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shug360

ArboristSite Lurker
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I am new to porting. I have my 288 that I’m looking to play with. I had a farmertec cylinder that I purchased to work with. As I didn’t want to screw up a meteor or an oem cylinder. The farmertec leaves a lot to be desired… castings are rough. First off I cut .020 off the base. Cleaned and widened the intake. Widened the exhaust did not raise the roof any though. I have been watching Tin mans saws on YouTube. I like his channel. I know that I need to get some timing numbers. Here are some pics of my work so far. Any and all criticism is welcome. This is for learning. If I like the finished product I will get a better cylinder to match numbers with. Once I fully understand timing numbers I will raise or lower ports.

Attachments

• IMG_3062.jpeg
    IMG_3062.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 3
  • IMG_3063.jpeg
    IMG_3063.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_3064.jpeg
    IMG_3064.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_3065.jpeg
    IMG_3065.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 1
Looks pretty good.
Without timing numbers I wouldnt raise or lower anything, 50/50 chance you make it worse.
Tinman banned me from commenting on his channel because I ask him why he wouldnt copy a known stronger build than his or try not raising the exhaust so much so he'd have more torque. He admits his saws are a bunch slower than other builders but doesnt try new things to improve his builds lol.
You can easily add finger ports to the 2 series huskies and they make more power especially in after market cylinders as the upper transfers arent quite right. Just make sure the finger is far enough away from the intake the piston skirts corners dont hit it.