I would like to learn more about producing better grade pieces out of a log using CSM

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Coalsmoke

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi guys. I have used an alaskan style CSM to mill roughly 3,000bd ft worth of boards, beams, posts, etc, mostly softwoods and the native westcoast hardwoods we have here. I'm no expert, but have used it enough to get a good taste for it. I now plan to build myself a mill carriage assembly something like the procut design. I figured if I'm going to get more serious about this, it would be a good idea to learn some general cutting knowledge of how to get the best quality wood for structures out of a log.

Can anyone recommend a website or a starter book that lays this out in an easy to follow manner? My goal is to be cutting good enough grade pieces to use in construction of a house. The barn went well, but is more forgiving. No drywall in the barn ;)