Installing a carb kit basics.........

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
STIHL-KID

STIHL-KID

ArboristSite Operative
Ok, I have done some research on here and some of the information is overlapping when it comes to rebuilding a carburetor. I have a Walbro HD-18B model carb. I have put new carb kits in before, but seem to have difficulty with making them function correctly. I will openly admit that I'm still a rookie at tuning carbs and knowing little details about what to look for when troubleshooting carburetor problems. Basically, besides replacing the carb kit parts one for one.......what else should a person do to ensure trouble-free performance after putting one in? Any details or things I should be aware of while putting in a new carb kit? What should I be inspecting. Perhaps I'm asking obvious (no duh!!!) questions........but I figured some experienced guys would add in some worthwhile advice. Oh and maybe a wise-crack or two. :D

PES+

Addicted to ArboristSite
What problems have you had after installing kits?

It is pretty straight forward and a lot of people just don't remove the adjustment needles and clean the fuel passages.

It is not much help that Tillitson re-used the HD prefix on two very different carbs and that their site dowloadable service manuals are in Word
.doc

bama

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Karlstad, MN---Where the earth meets the sky.
Make sure the parts go in the right place!

I ended up learning the hard way to make sure you put the diaphram in the right place(on top of the gasket) on my 621. Darn thing wouldn't run worth anything, no matter how I adjusted it. I forgot the rule that if all else fails, check the directions(or the IPL).:bang:

PES+

Addicted to ArboristSite