Looking at a Vermeer 665 stump grinder

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ziggo_2

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi all. Im looking into buying my first stump grinder, that said i seen a vermeer 665 grinder for sale and i was wondering what should i look for (known problems and such) It has a 65hp wisconsin, which a friend of mine says are hard to keep running right... also says the chain for the cutter wheel is hard to keep oiled....hes had two of them. What you say?

I had a 1981 665a with the deutz diesel rather than the wisconsin gas. It was a good machine with few problems. I have no experience with the gas model.

I ran 1100 series greenteeth on it and it was a grinding beast! (sold it last year due to lack of use and now just use my vermeer 252).

Hey AP, was it just too hard to get to the stumps being that big, or you just weren't getting big stumps often enough?

I'm looking at one too, it does look beasty. It's got the wiscon engine. I'm wanting an older monster first, I've got good rates if I need to rent a 252. Access is rarely an issue here and the 252 is great on small to medium, but the larger stumps really need something more and the bigger machines are harder to rent.

Hey AP, was it just too hard to get to the stumps being that big, or you just weren't getting big stumps often enough?

It was a combination of the two. I do mostly small to medium removals so I only get the really big stumps occassionally. My 252 is a wonderful machine with 1100 series greenteeth on it. It can grind a 60" stump in about 30-45 minutes. I just couldn't justify having the big grinder sit around while only getting used a handful of times a year. I originally purchased it to do a city contract but have been outbid on that the past 2 years.