Moisture Content Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adamal

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've got what I think is some Elm. The tree came down last year and I cut it up into 16" rounds early this year.

The reason I think it's Elm is because it's damn near impossible to split by hand (also, the leaves matched up pretty well). It's REALLY stringy and hard as a rock. I won't even attempt to hand split anything larger than 8"-10".

Anyway, I split some yesterday and the moisture content was 25%-34% on the fresh sides. Today, the same pieces are measuring 11%-14%. I'm sticking the probes in as far as they'll go too.

What's the story here? I'm fairly new to this so, I'm not sure which measurement I should go with... Or is it somewhere in between?

Thanks!

@Adamal It is the concensus around here that a MM should be used on a fresh split of wood. Your first readings may be more accurate than the second readings, if you are inclined to believe one of those meters.

I agree, use it on a fresh split and don't put too much trust in them it's just an estimate.

Carefully lay the M M on the wood to be split, then hope like heck you can hit it dead center, best swing you will ever make !!!

Adamal,
Moisture meters work by measuring the electrical resistance (or, more correctly, conductance) between the two pins along the grain. Wood, even dry wood, will conduct some electricity... it's just not a very good conductor. However, the higher the moisture content of the wood, the better its conductance until it reaches a point, called the saturation point where conductance stops increasing. The rub is, the ratio of moisture content to conductance is not linear... adding x-amount of moisture does not equal x-amount of conductance, it varies with moisture content and species.