most reliable used stump grinder

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jsk

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Well I lost my sub contractor for doing stumps he left the state and took his stuff with him.. Im not up to date on stump grinders so im wondering what is the most reliable and easy to work on in the 5 to 10 thousand range. there are alot of grinder out there now so i want to buy the right one.
thanks
jason

vermeer sc252 has been a great grinder for me. I'm a piss poor mechanic and have had to do only regular maintenance on my machine so far (400 hours) with no repairs needed.

You can find one a few years old with 500 hours for $5-8k depending on your area and overall condition of the machine. Ebay always has a bunch of them from rental centers but I'd try to find a single-owner machine. Rentals get a lot of abuse from people who know nothing about proper operation and the rental shop owners keep the teeth dull because the renters just dull them up right away anyways. Short of it is, a rental unit with 500 hours will likely have significantly more wear than a single-owner unit with 500 hours.

As for teeth - a machine with the sandvik wheel or with greenteeth will cut much better than the standard vermeer (old style) teeth or rayco super teeth and are much much easier to change out.

good luck.

stump grinder

It does seem like alot of guys run the 252. I would like to get a diesel but the mostly seem to be gas motors.

thamks
jason