Muffler, any down side?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smac61

Reaction score
I'm just about ready to order a "Walkerized" muffler for my Husky 350.
Although I'm happy with its stock performance, why not let it run cooler, stronger and increase the longevity in the process.
Warranty issues aside, are there any downsides to doing this?
From what I've read no, but I'm a newbie...

For those of you that have done this, whats required after the new muffler goes on?
I presume lowspeed, high speed and idle adjustments. anything else?

Thanks,
Sean

there is no down side that i know of but like you i haven't been modifing for very long. im getting ready to order a walkerized muffler for my ms460. i opened up my 036 and my dad's 021 and noticed a huge differance! well worth it IMHO:angel:

Many people assume that a 2-stroke engine is "dirty"...a pollution machine...because it uses oil in the gas to lube.

Not a very accurate assumption. Some of the oil burns, but forms particulates, like a diesel. Not a big problem as the unburned HC (unburned gas) that escapes from the muffler very stroke. A restrictive muffler reduces this, as well as forcing the engine to operate a little like it has an EGR valve.

The downside to running an opened muffler is that you will be polluting more. I suppose somewhere there are people to whom this makes a real difference. I say stay close to home, save gas, and use that time with your toys.