My First Slab

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marktever

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am a wood sculptor/abstract furniture builder and my favorite form to work with is logs but 2"-3" slabs are also desirable. I got tired of paying $12 a bd.ft. for good hardwood, especially when I get a lot of nice logs for free! I have already built a small dehumidifier kiln so I began looking around online for info about saw milling and really hit the jackpot with this site and started reading the accounts of some real experts. Anyway, I have a 20" dia. birch log that I want to build a bench with. I found a 31" bar for my old Homelite vi944, 82cc saw and welded some tube steel together and here are my first results. All things considered I'm Fairly happy with the outcome, although it looks like I cut it with a cheese grater, with 1/4" grooves in the surface. I also realized immediately that sawmilling is not for sissies. It was quite a ball buster getting through the 6' log. I used a 72 series full skip tooth chain which I believe is not the ideal ripping chain. Any suggestions on what chain would make my cuts smoother and easier? And yeah, that's my driveway I'm working in and yeah I may be a bit crazy for running a sawmill in a suburban neighborhood bu I'm hooked now so I'll keep ya posted on my amateur milling adventures. I also included a table I did with a walnut slab I bought.
View attachment 313015View attachment 313016

The table you made is exceptional!:rock: Way to go!!!

I also sometimes mill in my driveway but don't tell my neighbors! I have met many wood folks that do so and as long as you are not doing it while your favorite neighbor is having a family reunion things will be fine.