New Mill

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chaikwa

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Just got done building my new mill. Used plans from Linn Lumber and well worth the price. Here's a few pics;

Sawmill065.jpg

Sawmill061.jpg

Sawmill067.jpg

chaikwa.

I've only used it when it was UN-painted. I just wanted to make sure it was accurate and relatively defect free before I put the paint to it.

I'll get some sawing pics as soon as the paint dries!

I have way more hours into it than I care to admit. Being a welder/fabricator by trade, you'd think I could crank it out in a month or so. Truth be told, I have the better part of the winter into it.

chaikwa.

That is a real nice package you put together there. I think we need some videos of it in action. I am a 'recovering' fabricator myself. Owned my own shop and business for a few years and decided to get out of the full time thing while I still have my health. I can fully understand that time involved in it. It's easy to piece out a project like that in the minds eye, but it takes time when it comes to making the 3D version of it ;)

Nice work.

Looks great!! Now get those leveling legs down...level....and get to eating sawdust!!!

Don't forget the pics.

Kevin

Looking at the quality of your work I can only imagine the milling equipment that would appear if you and Bobl lived next door !!
What is the HP of the engine ? and the size of the band ?
There are a few mobile mills here in Ireland but from what I am told trying to get the right set up seems hard, to lightweight frame manufacture and band sizes that are to easily damaged.
Looking forward to seeing it in action.

Thanks for the kind words everyone.