New onwer of Stihl 031AV...having little problem

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EricM

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to chainsaws and I just bought an 031AV (not sure what year) and I cut with it yesterday. Very happy with it so far, but the chain won't stay tight. I'm guessing it's the tensioner???

When I first started using it, the chain would stop when sitting at idle. But now, not so much. It runs at idle. So, I'm not sure if it's the clutch or the tensioner. I've fiddled with it for the past hour and can't get it to stay tight.

So far I've taken the side cover off, inspected, made sure the bar was on the studs properly before tightening, lifted up and out on the bar when tightening the nuts. As soon as I start it up it's not staying tight and goes back to too much slack in the chain.

If bad tensioner, how difficult is it to replace? What manual to get? Service/repair, owner's manual, parts breakdown? I don't even know how this thing in engineered, could the clutch even be bad and causing this?

Thanks

Once you crank the bar nuts tight, the tensioner's job is finished. The clamping from the nuts holds the bar tight not the tensioner. In any case, as long as the adjuster is turning freely, travels the entire length of the slot, and isn't bent up, it is OK. To change it, you would have to unscrew both bar studs, not something to be done lightly.

Generally what causes a loose chain that fast is a very wore sprocket. Look at where the chain engages the clutch drum and you ought to see wear. A new chain on a old, wore out sprocket will quickly result in a wore chain due to pitch mismatch.

You could have a bent crank, but that would cause an alternating loose/tight chain and a bunch of other problems. Crank the saw over slowly and watch the end of the crank for runout.