New to me Husqvarna 55R and 350.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have a few things to share that might be helpful.

I was given a pair of Husqvarna 350 chainsaws a few months ago from a kind relative. Both of these saws were used at family cabins and were marginally/non running projects. My tinkering was inspired by the folks in this forum and the consideration that if something catastrophically broke during my maintenance the financial loss would be minimal. I am not a professional repair guy but can turn wrench and hope some of my experience might be helpful for you.

Initially, the first saw had 90psi compression, only 3 of 4 4mm hex head bolts securing the cylinder to the base block and only 1 of these small bolts was tight. This saw did not run.

Upon teardown I found a dished piston, no scoring in the cylinder and a good crosshatch pattern. The squish with the dished piston was about .060 measured with solder. I decided to install meteor piston and use moto seal instead of a base gasket. I did not hone the OE 45L cylinder. I did not remove the base block.

The results were solid.

View attachment 1133217

View attachment 1133218

The ring end gap was about .007.

Squish was about .024 with the Meteor piston and motoseal.

Compression after 4-6 tanks of fuel is about 152 psi.

The OE carburetor remained good. After clipping the ears from the white and red plastic limiters it tuned nicely. It is a very good running saw a solid performer.

Initially the second saw had 100psi compression, and a profoundly clogged air filter. This saw would start but had no power.