Newbie Questions on Milling with a Chainsaw Mill (homemade)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

n8ghz

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello, as a complete newbie to Chainsaw Milling (never even saw one except in pictures), I have been reading here and elsewhere for ideas.

I have read about ripping chain & the values thereof.
I have read about the high HP required for non-boring performance.
I have also read where alot of folks use regular chisel-chains where size of the kerf is not a concern.
I have read about narrow-kerf chains for those that do care.
I have read about auxillary oilers for long bars..or for any bar? (too much oil not being a bad thing?)

My main Q's right now, having just started building a carriage to run on a ladder:

Is it possible or not desirable to mill in both directions ie: cutting off of the top of the bar as well as the bottom? My bar will be supported in all directions near the roller-tip rivet (chainable tip bar)
This would allow changing depth of cut after first cut and going back the other way cutting off of the top of the bar.

This is a question that I guess even pertains to hand-held sawing.......say you put a 36" bar on a fairly powerful saw, but only sawed say 22" logs that were a PITA for a 18 or 20" bar.....is the HP requirement of the 36" bar in that useage any more of a power-hog than a 22" bar or smaller?
I realize that there is more bar-to-chain friction, but it can't be that significant can it?

I will probably set this thing I am building up with a 20" bar, but am making it so the bar support can work with a 24",28" or maybe the 36". Even with those bars, I doubt if I will ever cut anything that those would allow for width. I figure about the biggest logs I have would be 18".