Norwoods New Industrial Band Setter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sawyer Rob

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I've been sharpening and setting my own bands since 1996, and i've been useing Norwoods standard sharpener and setter to do so. It works pretty good, but i always wanted something faster and more industrial with the thought of maybe doing a few bands for others too.

After learning about Norwoods NEW "industrial" sharpener and setter, i decided to give both try. I made a call to Dale at Norwood, ordered both NEW tools, and a few days later they were at my door.

Here's the setter right out of the box,

orig.jpg

After opening everything up and looking over the manual, i started putting it together. Actually, all of the important parts are already together, but you do have to assembly the "arms" that hold the band while it's being set.

The arms slide one into the other, and are held with machine screws, that have nuts on them that set into a recess inside the arms.

orig.jpg

You have to have everything "just right" to get the arms to slide in, once you have the nuts in place... I found this to be a pain, but at least you only have to do it once, just the first time around... Here's the arms together...

orig.jpg

Next thing is, i was kinda disappointed that the setter doesn't come with it's own stand. The sharpener does, but not so with the setter...

Anyway, i made up a block to screw the body of the setter onto, that i could clamp in my Black & Decker Workmate...

orig.jpg

orig.jpg

Here it is mounted on the block, and clamped in the Workmate, with a band installed...

orig.jpg