Poplar Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OcoeeG

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to milling so I have many questions. One of my first projects is going to be milling up a big old Poplar into fence railings to fence off some patsture. I was planning on making it about 5/4ish thick, drying it and then resawing it on a table saw. A friend of mine said poplar does not do well in the sun and wouldn't do well in this application. I plan on painting it. What says ye on this topic. Is it worth sawing this huge poplar into fence rails or not?

Saw comes Monday, CAN'T WAIT to start milling!!!!

I am new to milling so I have many questions. One of my first projects is going to be milling up a big old Poplar into fence railings to fence off some patsture. I was planning on making it about 5/4ish thick, drying it and then resawing it on a table saw. A friend of mine said poplar does not do well in the sun and wouldn't do well in this application. I plan on painting it. What says ye on this topic. Is it worth sawing this huge poplar into fence rails or not?

Saw comes Monday, CAN'T WAIT to start milling!!!!

Resaw it to what?? Do you mean resaw it to width? I'd want "at least" 6/4 for fence rails!!

Poplar will do fine "IF" you air dry it first! And paint it well... It takes and holds paint well, and you need to keep it painted. That is, if you want those fence rails to last... It won't last long as post though...

Rob

Resaw it to what?? Do you mean resaw it to width? I'd want "at least" 6/4 for fence rails!!

Poplar will do fine "IF" you air dry it first! And paint it well... It takes and holds paint well, and you need to keep it painted. That is, if you want those fence rails to last... It won't last long as post though...

Rob