Possible opportunity - Got questions for the pros...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve NW WI

Unwanted Riff Raff.
Reaction score
Normally I just lurk over on this corner of AS - I'm mostly just a firewood hack with a case of CAD. But, I had a friend of mine approach me about helping him log a 40 acre patch of Aspen he's got.

Here's a little background. My friend is actually a tree farmer, he's got 2 spade trucks, and pretty good with a saw, but he's scared to death of dropping trees. That would be my part in this operation, just lay em down. He and his son will handle bucking and roadsiding the logs. I'm no pro, but I am fairly confident when dropping trees with some room to work, and not afraid to hang a bull rope in one that worries me - and he's got a 974 Bobcat (more the size of a wheel loader than a skid steer - 12,000lbs) on site. I haven't seen the ground up close yet, but he says the trees are average 18" DBH, regrowth from logging 40 odd years ago. I expect to see a lot of double and triple stems, and fairly tall straight trees based on what most lots like that I've seen. We'd be mostly clearcutting, just leaving the odd oaks, maples, etc that are scattered throughout the woods. No other hazards there, no buildings, power lines, etc to worry about.

So, some questions, just a starter, I'll surely have more after we take a walk in the woods, and more yet if we actually do this. He's going to get a couple logging companies to bid on it, but he's leaning toward a DIY job, since he and his son don't have much else to do this time of year.