Problem with standby generator

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GGraziano

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
We have a 2 year-old 22KW Generac Guardian standby generator with a 200A Transfer switch. We had a power outage 3 nights ago at 4AM. The unit kicked in, ran for an hour, and quit. Power had been restored (thankfully!) by about 7:30 AM. The unit was showing "charger missing A/C" error. Some research suggested that the T1 fuse on the transfer switch panel had been blown. I replaced that fuse yesterday, and the generator's display is now showing an overload error. It says to push Off and Enter to clear the error. When I do so I get: "remove load/error 2100." It seems to me, a total novice at this stuff, that there is no load as power has been restored to the house and therefore there isn't any demand on the unit. It's the weekend, and the nearest approved Generac repair person is more than an hour away. What am I not understanding here, and is there something else I should try to restart the system?

Try and manually rack your transfer switch. There should be a tool in switch.
Yes there's a switch. I think I "racked" it, but it didn't seem to have an effect on the error code that's displayed on the generator panel. I'm trying to get at the battery to disconnect and reconnect in hope of clearing/resetting. It's being difficult!

If unit this size this new, is it covered by SERVICE CONTRACT AND WARRANTY? Best get qualified Tech, as there is potential to do MUCH bad and void any warranty? Place the call?

If unit this size this new, is it covered by SERVICE CONTRACT AND WARRANTY? Best get qualified Tech, as there is potential to do MUCH bad and void any warranty? Place the call?