Q's Re the base "arborist certification" ISA exam

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eye.heart.trees

arborjunky
Reaction score
I'm hoping for some insight from anyone who's taken the Pearson Vue online test, I am studying from the book and am a bit unnerved by....well the book itself says "Just knowing this book isn't necessarily enough to pass", so even 100% learning-by-rote would not necessarily be a way to an A+...but I am already pretty familiar with a very very large portion of the material, but my problem / the reason I'm posting this thread is because I guess I'm wondering/worried whether it's more "technical", or more "knowledge-based"
FOR EXAMPLE-- I grow bonsai / am a gardener and am very very familiar with pH, with auxins/hormones and with the components of the living tissue, can talk Re meristematic tissue at length....but, what I knew as "Apical Dominance" is referred to in the text as "Apical Control".....my worry/concern is whether, *in general on this test*, is whether it'll be "written answers" where my writing can show I clearly understand it, or if it's "technical" multiple choices and I'll see something like :
Apical:
a - control
b - tendency
c - bananas
d - all of the above

I'd be stuck guessing between A&B and could very well get a 0 for a question on a topic that I'm actually very very familiar with... so yeah I guess I'm hoping for insight on just how the test gleans what you do/do not know, I mean I read the practice-tests and feel like this book is "mostly review" for me but then I ponder getting 0's because I didn't know they call it "apical control" and doing terrible because of 'technical' hangups like that!

Thanks a ton (and yes I understand that the material is inherently "technical", hopefully my usage of the word here is clear, I mean more like "nitpicky, jargon-focused technical" not "depth of knowledge on the subject")