saw modding

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mailman003

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to this form and have alot of questions about modding saws. got a 66,50,55,371 husky saws. first are these good modding saws? Second, i need to know about porting these saws!

Those saws are fine for modding,
as for how to port them there are books written on this stuff, I could type my fingers down to bloody nubs trying to explain it all. Some of the past threads should get you a good start or at least to the point where you have some more specific questions.

good luck

Here is a link to some good reading. The start is more on 4 stroke but a lot of the pressure wave dynamics apply to 2 stroke.. There is a bit near the end about the usefullnes of intuition as a porting guide. Good reading for more than basic level too!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cylinder_head_porting

Porting by inexperienced individuals without a full understanding of the fluid dynamics of the process still continues but the results are spotty and the process is expensive and time consuming with many more failures than successes.

This must be the place Frankie learn his cheapness!.......Hahahahahahahaha!

Porting by inexperienced individuals without a full understanding of the fluid dynamics of the process still continues but the results are spotty and the process is expensive and time consuming with many more failures than successes.

Also known as economics! Yah, I rather like to see some bang for my buck! Like in the old saying, "The fool and his money are soon parted"

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Fluid dynamics? Like how many Jack Daniels you consume before picking up your die-grinder Dennis?:)

thamks!