Shaft Drive Log Splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arbonaut

Go Climb It
Reaction score
I don't see a reason for something to be driven by v-belt when it can be serpentine. Or why a chain when it could be shaft driven or hydraulic? Sorry about the fragmentation here, just going stream of consciousness while the gettin's good. Been takin' out some monster Oak in this 90 deg weather--

Take a skidsteer for example. You got a killer hydraulic setup with a main central pump. The final drive to the wheels, however is chain. Running Genie lifts as an industrial electrician, I was impressed by the way the power was delivered to each of the four wheels via individual hydraulic motor. I'm yearning for the day skid steers are driven this way or by gear drive. If I'm missing something here, please plug it in. I'm referring to wheel skids. Compact track loaders have their place but are screwed in gravel.

Now with conventional log splitter builds the pump is driven by v-belt and this is a weak point. I don't think all that springy rigging to let the belt slip to start the engine in cold weather seems necessary. I understand the power fluid is viscous when it's cold enough to split wood. Makes it hard to turn over with the added resistance.

What are the limiting factors in making a log splitter shaft or gear driven? How do you get around it and get it done? I want my conventional hyd cylinder with a four-way head attached to the beam. I just don't want no damn belt.

I'm not gonna Google this no more. I'm asking y'uns.

no belts on my splitter, it's a lovejoy coupler from engine to pump. direct drive and no old start issues.
the hydraulic drive to all four wheel is used on some of the equipment i've worked with when i was younger, ie, the "detasseling machines' used by a big seed corn company.