Skip chains

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dnyelator

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've read alot of posts (a couple hours just today) on here about filing chains down to 0 - 10 degrees for milling lumber. I know alot of you buy stuff from Baileys. I inquired with them about a few loops for my MS390, but all they have is Oregon 75CJ that is 15 degree. I've also read here and other places online to never run more than 10 degree. So why don't they sell a 10 degree chain? My second question is how hard are these to sharpen? It says they are very hard to sharpen and it calls for a double bevel file. I'm pretty new to this. We've sawn a couple hundred board foot, but want to get a little more serious. So should I buy this 75CJ stuff and then file it back to 10 degrees even though it says it's hard to sharpen? BTW, I'm running a 36RSLFK84 Stihl chain right now that's been great until it went dull. I paid to have it sharpened and it only lasted about 1/4 the time and is dull again. I can't seem to find this chain anywhere online, but I understand Stihl doesnt sell online.