Small woodselling dilemma

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aandabooks

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I have never bought or sold wood before. Any advice would be helpful as I am going to try and keep two parties happy at the same time. So here's the problem:

My FIL just decided to get out of the woodburning game. He ran into a deal he couldn't pass up on a corn/pellet burner over the weekend. So he called me up and asked if I wanted to buy him out. Splitter (which I have been using for the past 3 years for my splitting needs), 2 saws (neither one anything to get excited about) and a pile of wood that we had not yet processed into the barn. About 3-4 cords. He got it in payment from his sister after she ended up owing him some money. A long story that I won't bore you with. $700 dollars. I told him no problem and I'd start hauling the wood when I got a chance.

Well I don't need the wood. I'm 3 years ahead at the moment. I relayed this story to a friend / co-worker who also burns with wood and he has let me cut on his property once. He hasn't got a good start on his woodpile for the winter and he'll buy wood at a farm auction from time to time. Well he asked me what do I want for all of the wood. I told him I wasn't sure but he knows what I'm giving my FIL for the whole deal. The going rate for hardwood C/S/D around here is about $80 for a face cord.

Last year he bought a couple of deliveries from a guy he knows for $125. 160 cu. ft worth of wood stacked on a dually flatbed. I told him if he were to let me use his trailer to haul with, 6x16 7000 lbs vs. my 5x10 2000 lbs trailer, we would work out a price per load.

It should work out to 3 heaping trailer loads of wood. Whatever I sell the wood for is reducing my investment in the splitter. What is a fair price?

Well lets see,

He's let you cut on his property,