Square chisel, the remote possibility of a file-jig

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IchWarriorMkII

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Im just a simple farmer guy, who enjoys cutting some wood. I don't mind to file, I use a jig to aid my lack of touch by hand, and I don't cut enough to warrant a good grinder+ supplies to keep my chain ground.

I hear all about square chisel, and how nice it is. I sure would like to try some out, but Im certainly not going to buy new loops when the old gets dull... How would one go about sharpening such a chain?

The local shop would probably sh!t when they saw it.

No grinder means no grinder wheel.

Lack of hand file skill means I'd probably file the chain into a worthless pile of drive links.

http://store.baileys-online.com/cgi-bin/baileys/5791?mv_session_id=arfTFhz5&product_sku=15065

Would one of these files fit in a Granberg file jig? I could mock me up the angles on my new chain, then use it to put a touch up on the chain when needed?

Or :laugh: no.

Im just a simple farmer guy, who enjoys cutting some wood. I don't mind to file, I use a jig to aid my lack of touch by hand, and I don't cut enough to warrant a good grinder+ supplies to keep my chain ground.

I hear all about square chisel, and how nice it is. I sure would like to try some out, but Im certainly not going to buy new loops when the old gets dull... How would one go about sharpening such a chain?

The local shop would probably sh!t when they saw it.

No grinder means no grinder wheel.

Lack of hand file skill means I'd probably file the chain into a worthless pile of drive links.

http://store.baileys-online.com/cgi-bin/baileys/5791?mv_session_id=arfTFhz5&product_sku=15065

Would one of these files fit in a Granberg file jig? I could mock me up the angles on my new chain, then use it to put a touch up on the chain when needed?

Or :laugh: no.