Storing a saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RanchDad

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've lurked on here quite awhile, bought and sold a little, and would like to think I've learned a lot from this site. I'm not a professional logger, but I do enjoy working on and cutting with my saws. Because of the disease lots of people on here seem to suffer from, I have more saws than i can cut with consistently. My question is: what is the best way to store them(considering they may sit for a day or maybe for two months)? I cut pretty often, but I do tend to play favorites so in the past I've always dumped the fuel and run them dry before cleaning them up. Is dry the best way to store? I use 100% gas (non-ethanol) with the stihl ultra mix. What's y'alls opinion/advice?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I never drained any of my saws/weedies/blowers before finding this sight. Never had any problems, but i never let stuff sit for more than a few months usually. I do now drain and run stuff dry. Some folks will use canned fuel as storage fuel, basically same as using fresh e-free fuel to store with. As said above, sounds like u got it covered. Only thing i guess a guy could do is run a really rich 25:1-30:1) batch of mix through to make sure theres a really nice film of oil. Doubt it would ever make a dofference tho haha

As I have many saws and never know which one I will run on any given day, I idle them dry before they go back on the shelf. If I don't they go on the ready to run shelf so I know they have fuel in them, but I try not to let them sit with fuel for more than a couple of weeks.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk