Torque vs Speed for milling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the westspartan

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I am fairly new to chainsaw milling. I just got an Alaskan mill this summer. I am running a 441 with a 24" bar as I am cutting mostly 18" average white pine and a little walnut and cottonwood of similar size to the pine. It works great, so far. I have milled enough lumber to build a small workshop and a few other projects (i will post pictures of my workshop at a later date). I have been milling a few times a week since August.

After looking through this site, however, I have started thinking about modding my saw to get more power. I talked to a Stihl dealer about this, he suggested using an 8 pin srocket instead of the stock 7 pin that came on the saw. He said I would gain a lot of speed and lose a little torque.

What I am wondering is, what is more benneficial in milling, torque or chain speed?

Also does anyone know if Stihl makes a dual port muffler for the ms441?

What about skiptooth chain?

p.s. I am new to this forum and I find it very helpfull. I have been reading it for months and just signed up yesterday!

Going to try things too...

My jred is doin a good job,,but I been wondering too,,torque..Sharp chain,,and keep the speed up it flys,,but you cant dog her down...Starts to load up...I have a old Mac sp80 I'm gonna try to fit up just for the fun of it and see what happens...speed isnt like the jred,,but it's something you cant play with with the torque..Just wondering myself...Good luck,,and soon as I experment,,I'll let you and all know how it worked...

I would stay with 7, 441 is a small saw on a mill, I might go to an 8 on 066 milling 18" diamiter logs, but that would be about the cut off point even with the bigger saw.