Total Noob to CSM first mill attempt

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tazman1602

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey all,

I've had an alaskan mill for a year now and finally got up the gumption to use it. I have a new Husky 395XP with a Walker muffler tuned properly. I waited a year because I wanted 10-15 hours on the new 395 before I abused the heck out of it.

Yesterday wife and I setup the mill, 32" bar and Carlton ripping chain (I have half a dozen Carlton and Woodland pro ripping chains 10 degree brand new along with some semi-skip chains for the 32" bar). She was my auxiluary oiler and wedge person and she did a great job.

We had the trunk of a 100 year old white pine we had to have taken down from my moms house, 24-26" diameter. I cut them to 8' length.

First cut went well with the Granberg brackets and straight 2x4's I had purchased. Second cut we screwed up and didn't get the mill adjustments tight so by the time we were through cutting one side was 2" and the other side was 3".....oh well it will make for a good shooting bench.

The next two 1" boards I cut went well with no issues. I *thought* the chain might be getting dull but didn't change it for cut number 4. This went well until the last one foot of the cut when it was like the chain quit cutting --- maybe it did but we got through it ok.

Question is do I need to change or sharpen the chain while milling more often than this? My thought is that chain was in 22-24" of wood 8' long for 4 cuts. That is a LOT of cutting compared to just cutting firewood. Again this is a first attempt at using a CSM.