Upgrade control valve on Didier MFD 26 splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doctorbrody

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been using this Didier MFD26 for about 10 years and it's been great for splitting 5 cords of mostly black birch and sugar maple every year. I like how low to the ground it is - I can work on my knees and load the split wood into a trailer behind me. Apparently a detent valve was an option on the Didier but mine didn't come with it. Is there an auto-return splitter valve that would drop right in and not require re-plumbing all the hoses and hard lines? Thanks!

PXL_20221122_201850921.jpg

I can just make out Cross Mfg's logo on the valve. Cross makes a pressure detented log splitter valve that looks as though it may be the same body as your valve. Safest way to be sure it's a drop-in is to get the Cross p/n of your valve and either inquire of Cross or download the literature on both valves and make the comparison yourself. Pay particular attention to the ports -- size and SAE vs. NPT, etc.

For example:
https://northernhydraulics.net/cata...ross-single-spool-log-splitter-valve-650.html

That looks like a Cross valve. If you google up Part number 108360 for Cross valves that should be the one you need. I ran one on a homemade wood splittter for years there good valves. I think the model is CD11FCAO

That's really helpful - thanks. It's hard to want to spend $250 on a splitter that's probably worth $500, but a lot cheaper than getting the Timberwolf that I really want :)