Utilizing urban wood waste

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I worked for a local city for 2½ years and they had their own private dump area for tree waste. They paid for a tub grinder to come in once a year and grind everything up, then it got loaded on semi trucks and hauled to Tampa to be burned in a power plant. It cost them a fortune, but they didn't contribute to filling up our landfills.

I just got a flier on a similar seminar being held in madison WI sometimes soon.

I think if someone had the money to put into an operation there would be able to make some money in urban timber salvage.

Urban Wood waste

I agree with John Paul. Urban timber COULD be done, but you have to calculate what you could be doing otherwise with that time. Its called opportunity cost. I continue to mill up logs, even though I lose my butt every time I do it. I've been a woodworker since I was a kid and spend an inordinate amount of time finding ways to use urban wastewood. Its become a professional mission. If there's a way to make a nickel in urban timber salvage, I will keep trying and may eventually find it. What I find is that persons are fascinated by the whole concept and will engage you extensively in conversation, which generallly interferes with me getting any actual work done. I always get a lot of that, right up until its time to clean up and then everyone scatters.

We have a place that takes clean, wood only (no leaves, roots, moss), no palm (too fiborous) or citrus (canker risk) loads to chip and dye a deep red for mulch. They used to take stuff with leaves, but had a fire (that was blamed on sparks from a RR car flying into a pile!) in our drought stricken area. These newer conditions are hard to meet most of the time! It is cheaper to dump there when you can though.