Weaver cougar saddle ??'s

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

custom8726

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I am in need of a new saddle and have been seriously considering the Cougar. I have been climbing with a real basic butt strap weaver for the last 8 years. I never liked the leg starps in my younger days but as I am getting a little older I am looking for some more comfort aswell as safety. My question is how you guys are setting up these rope bridge saddles? I am thinking a micro grab and locking beener? Or can you just attach a locking beener and use it like a full floating D? I asked a similar question on another sight because I want some info quick so I can put together an order tommorow hopefully. The stiching is coming apart on my old saddle, Hence the ASAP. Thanks in advance.

I just bought that Cougar saddle, it was the name that sold me. Cougar, GRRR!
No I just liked it. Its pretty much the same as a Komet but it has the same waist belt buckle as my old saddle which was a weaver. Easy in, easy out.
The rope bridge? Kinda skinny and the outer cover is allready showing some wear after a few weeks. Comfy though. And pretty cheap compared to others in its class, under 250, which is actually cheaper than anything in its class but the leg clasps are real swell and there is not any flimsy crap on it.
To describe it best I would say the bottom part is like Komet but the upper half is a G- Dam Weaver for sure.
I usually just walk in the store and take a few saddles home for the weekend when I shop for saddles. I thought the Cougar was just as good as all the others I had tried a few weeks ago but the name is kinda gay.
Man it is hard to look down at the thin rope bridge when you are up there and are use to big metal rings and tough leather and webbing. I just clip my biners right onto it- don't tell me I have use a pulley.