Which Ford F-250, 4X4?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

winland

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
A guy that I get some wood from has a couple of Ford F250's for sale.
Both are regular cab
Both are 4x4
Both have long beds.
Both have dual gas tanks but unknown if they work.
Both are automatics
Both have good tires

The 1988 has the 302 ci engine with fuel injection
The 1988 has 182,000 miles.
Body is a little better on this truck as far as rust goes.

The 1986 has the 460 ci engine with carburetor.
The 1986 has 135,000 miles

He wants $1000 for the 1988
He wants $2000 for the 1986

I would rather make a $1000 mistake as opposed to a $2000 mistake.
I am not a mechanic. Any future repair work that would have to be done on the trucks
would have to be done at a "shop".

OPINIONS anyone.

Thank you,
Chuck

Both are regular cab
Both are 4x4
Both have long beds.
Both are automatics
Both have good tires

I am not a mechanic. Any future repair work that would have to be done on the trucks

OPINIONS anyone.

Thank you,
Chuck

UNLESSSSS, you drive this elsewhere..........the 302 will be exceedingly better on fuel, except when LOADED!! and that's when the 460 shines.. a stump puller extraordinaire..i would almost bet,,the 460 has heavier front and rear springs...if its ONLY going to be used as a wood hauler,,who gives a rip about mileage???!!! youll need horsepressssssure, esp if you want to pull a trailer behind it for less trips.....both engines,,unless they have been abused,,are near bulletproof....