Whistles

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

68 Automag

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Just had a quick question, I'm not a logger by any means I'm a dirt worker by trade but logging's always interested me. Anyway, I've obviously seen AxMen and Modern Marvels about logging and was just curious if there is a universal "code" for the whistles that the rigging guys use to single the yarder operator or is it something that is individual to each company? Just got to wondering that last night.

No, its pretty much universal and the same all over now. In Alaska they did'nt switch to the safety (modern) whistles until the late80s. Difference being it used to be 1 to stop and 1 to go ahead on the mainline. Now its three to go ahead.
Used to be 2 and 1 was slack the haulback, now its 2 and 4(a bunch)

North of Terrace a whole lot of short blasts followed by a cloud of red smoke used to mean " There's the Grizzly, found my bearspray! " Probably pretty much the same in Alaska:hmm3grin2orange:

(Same when playing golf in Smithers in the fall when the course first went in)

There are standardized whistles for high lead, slack line and tension skidders. I've a safety book with the whole list and you might be able to get it online although I'm not sure where. Might try searching WA Department of Labor and Industries.

That being said the last few years I worked every outfit seemed to have a bit different whistles for something. Not hard to learn after you knew the basics but you needed to ask on the first day.

A few from memory:
High Lead
Stop all lines:1 short
Ahead on the mainline: 3 short
Easy on mainline: 3 short and 3 short
Slack main: 4 short
Ahead on haulback: 2 short
Easy on haulback: 2 short 2 short
Slack haulback: 2 short 1 short or 2 short 4 short
Slack both lines: 1 medium long
Standing tightline when all stop: 1 short 2 short