Who knows the price of cypress?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Duane Broussard

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Been dragging a few cypress logs from the river and I'm really not sure what to charge after milling into boards. I've heard $1.40 per BF. I've heard 0.85 cents per BF. I called a local wood retailer who sales many different spicies and I was told they sell cypress @ $3.25 per BF. That price was a rough cut piece. Their 1x12x8 was $26.00. A 2x12x8 was $37.28 (roughly $4.60 per BF?) All rough cut. I need to know what I need to be selling this at, and a "resonable" price as well. I'm new to the "Sawyer" world and just bought a Lumbermate 2000. Any advice on the going price of cypress would be appreciated. Cedar too for that matter. Or maybe someone can point me to a web link or web site that keeps up with the "current" prices of lumber? I do understand that location has something to do with price. I am in south Louisiana next to the Texas border.
Thanks in advance,
Duane

Location has everything to do with it. A few months ago Zopi had a logger give him a bunch of cypress in the VA. area. From the pictures he took it was quite a nice load which I guess is not worth anything in that area.

Thanks Zodiac. I suppose if I can get enough input I can determine an average range of minimum and maximum and then make a choice somewhere in between. It only seems logical to maybe call other lumber retailers and inquire on their prices. One place said they sell it by the linear foot. Like $3.00per linear foot. Heck, that's just considering the length right? I mean if they set a price at $3/BF (linear foot), then it could be 6 inches wide or 12 inches wide for the same price?? That doesn't make sense to me. That can't be right. Can someone help me understand this linear/BF figuring for price?