Whoopie sling use

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stihlgotwood

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm just getting into using loop runners and slings and wow what a difference it makes on a job. I should add that it is all from learning from this site.
I've got myself a loopie sling and a port-a-wrap recently and was wondering if you guys use the loopie or whoopie slings with a block when lowering large wood onto itself. It seems that everything i read or see when blocking large wood on to itself, everyone is using an eye sling and block(tied with cow hitch or something) So maybee someone can help me to understand.

Thanks for the help

My typical scenario: Portawrap on a eye sling w/ timber hitch at trunk. Whoopee and block go aloft. But, I should try the eye sling aloft just for the sake of experimentation. Bull rope goes through block to a half hitch then a bowline on a bight. I too would benefit by researching and experimenting in this area.

Many others here know loads more than I, but did you try a search first?
Safe cutting.

I use both loopie and whoopie slings. For removals, I often place a loopie and block at a very high point above my landing zone, and add another block/loopie or two onto stronger wood below it on the bull rope. I don't quite know how to explain it, but if you run your bull rope up one side of the tree from your grcs or portawrap, and cross over to the other in an arc, using two or three block & loopies, the amount of pull on a single limb is greatly reduced and back-up blocks are in place just in case we blow the top out, like when a heavy piece doesn't run due to a rope wrap. It has saved me major problems.