whoops!!.... feeling pretty dumb

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

psych038

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
day after x-mas a couple of buddies and me went to go cut a few loads of firewood. i am not an expert by any means, but have been sawing for a couple of years now. i would say that i am always very carefull but it would be hard to convince anyone of that after my last wood cutting endevour. anyhow after i droppred a pretty good sized tree, we all started cutting the brush out of the top and while stepping through the brush i managed to cut my damned leg!!! really felt like a jack@$$!!! wasnt seriouse (9 stitches) but really gives me a new respect for that saw. i wasnt even on the gas, it was just still barely spinning after the last cut. i guess i will start using the brake a little more often, and prob be investing in a pair of chaps. havent got the bill from the ER but i bet i didnt save any money heating with wood this year.
please everybody be careful. i see so many people cut in horible positions and can only imagine what kind of damage a saw could really do. i was pretty lucky!!!

Good thing it wasn't worse. I just picked up some Stihl chaps new in the bag on CL for $25 the other day and I don't even notice that I am wearing them.

i wasnt even on the gas, it was just still barely spinning after the last cut. i guess i will start using the brake a little more often, and prob be investing in a pair of chaps. havent got the bill from the ER but i bet i didnt save any money heating with wood this year.
please everybody be careful. i see so many people cut in horible positions and can only imagine what kind of damage a saw could really do. i was pretty lucky!!!

EXACTLY !! both my cuts over the years were from IDLING saws. :chainsaw:

that's when our guard is down.

best thread of the day.:cheers: