wood stove question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
avarageerod

avarageerod

ArboristSite Lurker
hi everyone. i just found this forum this morning and am amazed at the insightful information here. i'm new to burning wood and i'm trying to use a "heatalator" my dad built back in the early '80's. i'm looking for a stovetemp thermostat. i've found articles online for them, but the ad's are from the early '80's. can anyone give me a idea where i can find one? here are some links of what i could find

Popular Science - Google Books

CLEANING UP WOOD HEAT FOR 1982-83

Fyrebug

Fyrebug

ArboristSite Guru
hi everyone. i just found this forum this morning and am amazed at the insightful information here. i'm new to burning wood and i'm trying to use a "heatalator" my dad built back in the early '80's. i'm looking for a stovetemp thermostat. i've found articles online for them, but the ad's are from the early '80's. can anyone give me a idea where i can find one? here are some links of what i could find

Stove thermometer can be found at all big box stores, TSC etc... You need a magnetic one for single wall pipe flue and probe type if you use double wall. It will cost you between $8 - $20.

If you use a pre-EPA stove your readings 18" above the stove will be between 450 - 600 F or more.

avarageerod

avarageerod

ArboristSite Lurker
thank you, but i don't need a thermometer, i need a thermostat. i think i'll take some pics and post them.
what i need is more like a automatic damper. all the articles i read from the '80's said it was the best thing since sliced bread, and now no-one knows what i'm talking about

avarageerod

avarageerod

ArboristSite Lurker
ok, i took some pictures of what i have.

here is the wood stove. it is outside beside the chimney

DSCF1956.jpg