wood stove vs. insert

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

husky455rancher

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
well as some of you know ive been heating my 1200sqft home for 2 years with a dutchwest fireplace insert (non cat). i use only the stove to heat and nothing else. i normally keep the house 70 and i use 3-4 cord a year. the only problem with the insert is the far rooms are a bit nippy at times and the floors are like ice as the cellar is in the 40's when its really cold out. the floors are well insulated aswell.

now i just got a free shenandoah wood stove a few weeks ago. ive been using it exclusively for 2 weeks or so. the floors are nice and warm, the house is evenly heated in every room. the cellar is 72-78 all the time which in tern keeps the water warmer it must save me electricity (electric water heater). all i did was taker the cellar door off and the heat transfers great up here.

the only thing that bothers me about the stove is it seems to use a great deal more wood that my insert does. i realize im getting twice the heat out of it and it just seems to be a better fit all aroud.

am i doing somethign wrong what ill do is after the fires going good ill totally close off the damper in the pipe and ill turn down the intake as low as i can while still getting good heat from the stove. i imagine thats how you get the best burn time. it seems do do ok but im wondering if a stove typicly uses way more wood than an insert.

im gonna use the insert for a couple days to get a comparison but im sure ill like the woodstove better but i just want a idea for wood useage. do you guys have any tips or ideas to get better burn times? sorry for the long post i jus wanted to get it all out there lol, Mike