Working down a spar

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heartland

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Greetings,

I'm new to climbing and have a few questions. If this is not the right forum for newbie questions, please advise so I don't clutter things up.

In the meantime, here is my question: When working down a spar without stubs, I understand how to secure the running bowline to the top of the spar. What is not clear is how the lifeline is connected to the saddle: Can a figure 8 be used here?

Continuing on, let's say you decide to work down the spar using "cut and throw". How do you move the bowline to a lower position on the spur? I realize that the bowline can be loosened with the running end of the rope and thereby lowered. The part I'm uncertain about is how to secure myself while that is happening... seems pretty risky to depend soley on my lanyard and climbers at that time.

Hope that makes sense. Any insight is appreciated. And again, I apologize up front if my newbie questions belong on another forum.

Thanks in advance :D

I personally just work my way down on my spikes and 2 lanyards. Depending on the diameter of the spar, I may wrap my lanyard around the spar for added security. Another way to do what you are talking about is to choke off on the spar with a running bowline and then use your split tail... however you have to watch out for that if you should need to bail out. The new thing is the cambium saver lanyard. This will choke off on the spar should you need to bail out for whatever reason, and I would assume is fairly mobile in the tree when positioning.