Firewood too long...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

porgyiii

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am relatively new to this wood burning thing, but I feel pretty confident I got ripped off. Ordered a cord of seasoned, mixed hardwood from a local dealer the other day. Now I could probably contest his definition of "seasoned" and "cord," but I'll reserve my judgment until I have it stacked.

HOWEVER, I can tell you for certain that as much as 30% of this entire load of split wood is over 21" long. My stove can barely squeeze in a 20.5" log. Needless to say, I'm pissed :mad2: Am I out of place assuming that the standard split firewood is sold in 16" - 20" lengths? This just seems like an underhanded practice that reeks of laziness (longer pieces = less cuts = less time).

Am I wrong? Do I have a case for telling him to come pick this largely useless pile of wood and give me my $ back?

I've found out that being on the delivering end of firewood to ask every question known to man before I sell a cord to someone. The majority of the time people have no idea what I'm asking them. But it helps to get a good overall idea of what is involved so they can be prepared to deal with the product.

For me, I will always cut firewood at 16" long pieces as it will make a 3 rick cord. Which keeps things simple for me. I have yet to deal with any elderly people who do firewood and want something cut shorter. In that case, it would end up being 8"ers to keep it simple.

There is 2 things you can do. Either you deal with it, and try and load your firebox with the pieces in a diagonal fashion or you get to cutting them in half yourself. You don't even need a chainsaw. You can use any saw in any form you got that will cut wood. Although, that's labor for you that should have already been paid for when you got the wood.