Improving Husqvarna 261 Performance?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WSJchester

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
My 6-year old, lightly used 261 has just never really impressed me. I've read here that it's sort of a de-tuned 262XP and that it's got potential to perform better. I'm down-sizing from 20" to 18" bar but I'm also intrigued by the thought of boosting its output at the same time.

Are there any relatively simple/inexpensive modifications I might consider? Anything one could undertake at home (as opposed to sending if off somewhere). I'm not a mechanic, tuner or fabricator but I can and do take things apart and get them back together again.

Thanks. -WSJ

My 6-year old, lightly used 261 has just never really impressed me. I've read here that it's sort of a de-tuned 262XP and that it's got potential to perform better. I'm down-sizing from 20" to 18" bar but I'm also intrigued by the thought of boosting its output at the same time.

Are there any relatively simple/inexpensive modifications I might consider? Anything one could undertake at home (as opposed to sending if off somewhere). I'm not a mechanic, tuner or fabricator but I can and do take things apart and get them back together again.

Thanks. -WSJ

I up'd the performance of the 261 I have by installing the 262 piston to get ride of the dished piston....Also muff modded it and.......

You could run a smaller spocket and a semi-skip chain. That's all easy to do.
I've never ran a 262, but I have a 261. I've hear the 262xp has the same low end grunt as the 372xp (don't know if this is true). And that the 262 makes .8 more hp than the 261.
I plan to convert my over someday, but I like the big saws, so I'm in no hurry.

attachment.php

the piston on the right is the dished 261...........262 is a flat top kinda like piston on the left...