Alternate Fuel Choices - Construction Wood, Pallets, Driftwood, etc.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

s37d

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I used to work in construction and routinely burned things like this:

2byburn-small.jpg

I burned pretty much every piece of wood I ripped off of old houses during the demolition process - tongue and groove fir flooring, solid pine wall sheathing, partially rotted/worn cedar shingles, old growth Douglas Fir true 2x4's, framing members from old decks, etc. Basically anything that didn't have glue or chemicals, I burned. The vast majority of it was from old homes, which there are many of over here on the north shore of Massachusetts, so there wasn't much plywood or PT, just a lot of good old solid heartwood. I also live a couple hundred feet from the ocean, so any pieces of driftwood I saw lying around I'd bring back and throw in the fire. Every bit counts, I say.

What about you guys, what do you burn that isn't typical straight-from-the-tree split and stacked firewood? No PT I hope :dizzy:

Last edited:
Pallets and Wood Scraps

When I used to spend some time out in my shop during cold weather I burned pallets for a quick hot fire. I used to burn all my wood working scraps too.

One time several years ago one of the steel plants gave away a huge pile of 4" x 4" oak timbers . I was one of the people who loaded up my pickup with them. They burned really well in my stoved out in the shop.

In my stove in the house I still use pallets as kindling to get a fire started. Oh by the way if anyone wants to start burning pallets you need to remember there will be a lot of nails in the ashes.

Nosmo