Care of a New Weeping Willow

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muttnut

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
My husband recently purchased a weeping willow tree. We have never had one before, but it seems to be doing quite well. My question is: are there supposed to be a profuse amount of buds over the trunk of the tree? The tree is about 8 feet tall and there are branches at the top with a little new growth, but the bulk of the new growth seems to be occurring along the trunk. Am I supposed to prune these off? Leave them? PLEASE HELP! muttnut

I'm no expert on this, but it sounds to me like your tree is in trouble. I seem to recall that trees only do that when they are desparate. I think it has something to do with root problems.

Other should be able to elaborate on this... if I am right of course.

Weeping willow

Those things will grow about any where and just love water.They will put off a long root to find a source of water and have the uncanny ability to clog drainage tile with great expertise.

So... should I water more? Fertilize? The tree looks healthy-- no leaf droop, nice silvery coloring, some new growth on the top... but this is my first time around and I know that looks can be deceiving!

A picture would help.
As for water, in general, soak the area well, then let it just dry out before watering again. Soaking would be letting a lawn sprinkler run for 1/2 hour or so, and dry would be when you poke a stick into the soil it comes out dry. With new plantings, poke a stick or finger into the root ball to check dryness, because all the roots are inside the ball, it often drys out much faster than the soil right next to the ball.

Care of New Weeping Willow-- pictures

Sorry... these pictures aren't the best. The tree is still a little too thin for my camera to focus well.