Career change?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ace1974

Reaction score
Hi, folks,
First, a little background. I'm a 31-year-old journalist who is looking to shift gears in mid-career and try something new. After a lot of soul-searcing, I've been giving a lot of serious thought lately to entering the field of arboriculture. Actually, the paper I work for ran a piece on an arborist from my hometown who appeared to really enjoy his job. And the more I read about his work, the more it sounded like a great fit for me. I'm physically active, prefer being outdoors no matter what the weather, and spent a lot of time as a kid working on my folks 10-acre woodlot (mostly brush/deadfall cutting, some chainsaw work). Of course, none of that means squat when it comes to a prospective employer. So, I turn to you folks for advice.

Basically, I'm curious as to whether I can realistically expect to find an entry-level job with my limited skillset and experience. It seems that the preferred wisdom dictates that the best way to get into this line of work if you don't have a degree in arboriculture is by starting as a groundworker - true? Are there year-round, full-time positions available at the entry level? Generally, how willing are experienced arborists to assist a new worker in learning the ropes of the job, and are there possibilities for advancement as skills/training increase? Sadly, there are no colleges/universities around here that offer arboriculture degrees, so I'm limited to learning on the job in order to keep enough money coming in to meet my financial obligations.

Finally, I discovered that there is an ArborMaster course covering basic climbing and felling skills scheduled for next month in my state...would something like this be worth taking, and would it increase my odds of being hired?