chainsaw ignorant , but i got a 400c 3 weeks ago

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeffB1961

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
i'm 62 transplanted city boy living in the mountains of Tazewell Va and loving it . we unexpectedly got a wood boiler about 3 months ago . i had only use a electric chainsaw a half dozen or so times prior to my 400c . the better halfs son contracted to clear power lines for several years and came over to get me started and teach me about the saw . and a week ago i brought home a county line 25 ton splitter with the kholer motor . so i'm a newbie .
thanks , Jeff

Congratulations, sounds like an upgrade in life.
When i was a newbie to using chainsaws an old guy told me , one of the biggest secrets to cutting wood is keeping a sharp chain. To do that, keep it out of the dirt , dirty wood and don't keep using it when it isn't throwing big chips and cutting well. Learn to sharpen them or carry extra chains that are sharp. Make sure your oil holes on the bar are not clogged when switching chains.
Any problems you can usually get answers to help solve them here or there.

Sounds like you have a good start on equipment. I like having an inexpensive chainsaw along also with a short bar. If u need to make some cuts that obviously risk dulling the chain it takes less time sharpening back up and smaller chains and bars are cheaper to replace. Makes it easiar keeping the bigger saw top notch so your not slowed down through your major cutting.

thanks folks .
definitely a life upgrade moving up here to the mountains !
i got the stihl 2n1 sharpener and watched videos on using it , hopefully that is suitable for my harry home owner use .