Heavy equipment operator?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oregon_Rob

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Heavy equipment operator?

I recently have been very board with my job and came across an opportunity to possible enter an apprentice as a heavy equipment operator through a union. Anyone done this and what are your thoughts as a career?

Well, if its union, you'll be well paid and 10 times as bored once the newness of the career change wears off. Or not. That probably wasn't helpful at all.;)

I have been a heavy equipment operator for almost 10 years. I am not union. I am part of a small family business. We started off owning a dozer and that got really boring. Moved to skid-steers, a little more fun but still boring moving dirt. Grading and roads are really boring, hot, dusty work. I prefer working around trees and the woods versus grading an inch off a slope all at every pass. That's just me but you may find that it isn't very exciting and you will have a lot of down time sitting and waiting for others to get out of your way! :)

Thanks for the replys.
I really like being outside, heavy equipment and the like. Now I just have to qualify and be selected.
Any advice on getting started or things to keep in mind would be appricated.

Regards,
Rob
:blob2: