Help Decide - Jonsered 2165 or 2171

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HickoryMania

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am new to the site and was hoping for a little advice.

I presently own a Stihl 026 and am looking to supplement this with a larger saw since everything I cut is just about all Hickory. I have talked with a few local dealers and am leaning toward the Jonsered's since they have a trade in promotion (not gettting rid of the Stihl).

One of the dealers I talked with felt the Jonsered 2165 (65.1cc) was better for me since it runs at a lower RPM vs. 2171 (70.7cc). Since I am not a professional he said there would be less chance to burn out the engine if I happened to be running a dull chain!

FYI - I would run the new saw with a 20" bar.

Any input would be appreciated. I am deciding in the next day or two.

Thank you.

I'd go with whichever one you like better, but whatever you get, keep the chain sharp, and it'll do a great job for you. the only real difference between the two saws that I know if, is the cylinder, and piston, other than that, they're pretty much identical. me, I'd go for the 2171, since its the Jred version of the Husky 372XP, which is a proven model amongst many here. I havent heard anything negative about the 2165, but I'd rather have the more powerful engine in case I need to cut something bigger.

If you got the extra $100.00 for the 2171 get it. I got one about a year ago for cutting hemlock pole wood and it works great.