help with 056 chain brake

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mimikamimi

Reaction score
I am brand new to site and really new to saws. Had a large spruce felled this year and am working on the rounds 48" around. I went and bought a state surplus Stihl 056. Runs great and has a new bar and plenty of chains which i bought for it. my question concerns the chain brake on the inside of the clutch cover. I allways remember it being tight to the inside of the cover with no movement at all. today i was cutting and had to remove cover to clear debris around sprocket. it seems that the metal liner (chain brake ) ??? on inside of cover is loose. i can move it and i got it back togethor and it ran but bogs down and started to smoke a little once it got warm. should it be tight abainst inside of cover??? do i need it??? a dremel could take care of it and my old logger buddy said that is the first thing they got rid of but i know no shop will take it out. is it broke??? i know i rambled here but just trying to give all info: HELP

Mike:)

I suspect the brake band is broken. Take it out and replace it... Don't run the saw as is or it will cost a lot more than a brake band.

Lakeside53 said:
I suspect the brake band is broken. Take it out and replace it... Don't run the saw as is or it will cost a lot more than a brake band.

And if you do remove the brake permanently, also remove the actuating lever so noone will ever think the saw has an operating chain break.

As a new user and new to chain saws, you should not even consider using that saw without an operating brake.

Harry K

i have heard of 56s geting throne out of the hand of the oper ater during kick back so i woud definetly leav the brake on the saw!