how do you guys top off the water level on the Central Boiler

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ant

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
i have a 6048 how do u guys top off the water and how far do u let it go below the fill line before u top it off? if i remember correct the guy that installed it filled it from the sidearm heat exchanger..

wood master

well i have a wood master. the way ours is set up is directly to the cold water in the house. on the cold water side of the house it passes threw a one way check valve. the water line then tees off to the out wood master and to the indoor boiler. the indoor boiler has a pressure reducing valve, set down to 20 psi. the other side of the tee going to the wood master has a ball valve so you can add water when you need to.

I use a washiing machine hose with female ends and leave it on my sidearm. All I need to do is open the 2 ball valves for a minute or two and it tops off the boiler water. In 3 years I have only had to top off a handful of times
(6048). You can also top off with a garden hose from the top of the boiler using a small ladder.

I use a washiing machine hose with female ends and leave it on my sidearm. All I need to do is open the 2 ball valves for a minute or two and it tops off the boiler water. In 3 years I have only had to top off a handful of times
(6048). You can also top off with a garden hose from the top of the boiler using a small ladder.

Only problem with that setup is, if you have a well and for any reason the boiler water backflows, then you've just contaminated your water supply :eek:. A simple check valve incorporated in the hose will prevent that.