New Stihl MS 200 Evaluation

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GregHarrison

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
For what it is worth, I am no proffessional user. But my 260 is too heavy for a lot of the small stuff I cut and trim up. Most of you guys recommended the MS200 rear handled saw. Well that is where I started running into difficulties.
Could not find one around the Atlanta area so I called Stihl. Is not being destributed in the south and no plans are in the works to do so. Nearest area it should be found in is the Mid - Atlantic, S.C. east Tn, N. Carolina and so on.
Found one in Chatt. Tn. 1st impressions were plastic, plastic and more plastic. Picked it up and it felt like a toy. The chain is narrower than the 260. It does not have the upright cylinder I had always heard was most desirable.
Anyway plastic means light weight and it us highly regarded on this site so I bought it. Got it home and it took almost 3 pulls to crank. It is the best mannered saw I have ever used. Cranks easily, idles smoothly. The transition from idle to high rpm's is smooth and it settles back to idle very quickly. THe power is totally different than the bigger saws and it seems to have been designed to run a lot of chain speed. But, if you keep the rpm's up it will saw the hell out of stuff. I only had some stuff about 8 inches across to test it on. Some sweetgum, oak and pine. The chain cuts well for a safety chain.
Overall, Stihl made a heck of a saw! Handles well and the weight is light enough but has enough heft to not be dangerously light in my opinion. It cuts the 8 inch stuff like butter, just give it some gas. As long as it is durable I think Stihl has a winner here. I would recommend it to anyone needing a small light and relatively powerful saw. And it is not even broken in, only ran one tank of gas thru it. And gas goes a long way!