New to CSM

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redoak

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi All. I've been reading this forum for about 6 months now, so I now know just enough to really get in deep trouble. I've had some experience working with bandsaw mills, but I want to work at my pace and you can't do that when your paying someone else. These CSM's look like just the thing.

My project is pretty ambitious. I've got 50 acres of forest in central NH and plan to carve a farm out of it. First on the list is 20x20 P&B barn. I figure a CSM looks like just the thing to turn round logs into square timbers.

Couple questions:

1. Sounds like a big saw is in order, my 029 is great for felling, but not enough for milling. How about a 660? From what I've read I think a 36" Alaskan mill is about the right size, I don't see that I'll need anything wider. Is this a reasonable set up for up to 24" soft woods (white pine)?

2. How do you guys mill longer logs? I'm going to need some 20' 8x8 beams and plates. Have any of you put together slabbing rails at that length? How did you do it?

3. How about milling smaller logs (say 8-12")? Do you set up some kind of jig with the rails and manuver the log under it? Just wondered if these smaller logs can me worked up effectively using a CSM.

4. How srongly do you recommend an edger for making the 90 degree cut off the first slice? Seems that might be a good idea.

Thanks for whatever advice you can offer!

Here's a couple of pic's of what I'm up to:

View attachment 46079

View attachment 46080

You will have your work cut out for you. But, you said that you wanted to go at your own pace.

The 066/660 is a great milling saw. I've milled several hundred board feet with one, and have no complaints until the trees got to the 30"+ hardwoods where it did the job, but didn't like it. For "normal" sized stuff, it's hard to beat.